Fed Cup | Doyle Names 2018 Irish Team

Amy Bowtell returns to lead Irish team in Montenegro

The 2017 Irish Fed Cup team
The 2017 Irish Fed Cup team | Tennis Ireland

By Stephen Higgins | 6 March 2018

Irish captain Yvonne Doyle has named her squad for Ireland’s 2018 Group III (Europe/Africa) pool matches in April.

The Irish team will consist of Jane Fennelly, Lauren Deegan, Ruth Copas and the fit-again Amy Bowtell.

Fennelly and Copas return from the 2017 campaign while Deegan and Bowtell receive their first caps for three years. Bowtell is the most experienced of the selected players with 35 Fed Cup matches under her belt.

Ireland will aim to make the promotion play-off by topping their pool and clinching the play-off. The side last competed in Group II in 2015.

In 2017, the Irish team scored early group victories over Kenya and Iceland before losing 3-0 to Cyprus in the final tie. Morocco then defeated Doyle’s side 2-1 in the 5th to 8th place play-off.

Ireland are currently ranked 83rd in the ITF rankings and will be drawn with four or five teams in a pool.

The other nations in the draw are Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Botswana, Cameroon, Cyprus, Finland, Macedonia, Iceland, Kenya, Kosovo, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, South Africa, Tunisia and Uganda. Lithuania are the highest ranked nation in the draw at 65.

The matches will commence on the clay courts of the Hotel Bellevue in Ulcinj, Montenegro on April 16th.

Correction: The earlier version of this article had Jennifer Timotin instead of Lauren Deegan. Apologies!