Irish Davis Cup Team Announced For Denmark Clash

A youthful Irish squad will take on the Scandinavians in Group II opener

The Davis Cup trophy
The Davis Cup trophy | Carine06

By Stephen Higgins | 21 December 2017

Ireland’s Davis Cup captain Conor Niland has named Pete Bothwell, Simon Carr, Osgar O’Hoisin, Julian Bradley and Sam Bothwell in his squad for the Group II clash with Denmark in February.

Of the group, all but Pete Bothwell are tournament debutants. The elder Bothwell featured in four ties for Ireland in 2016 and 2017 and has a match record of four wins and a loss.

Davis Cup regulars James McGee, Sam Barry and David O’Hare have declared themselves unavailable for selection. McGee has taken a break from the sport while Barry and O’Hare have committed themselves to tour events.

Denmark are expected to announce their match squad on January 24th.

Ireland will compete in the higher tier of international men’s tennis in 2018 after topping their pool in Group III (Europe/Africa) the previous season.

A squad of McGee, Barry, O’Hare and Pete Bothwell finished ahead of Montenegro, Andorra and Kosovo in Pool D with eight victories from nine matches.

Denmark missed out on promotion to Group I after losing a play-off to South Africa in September. The Scandinavians, who were quarterfinalists back in 1988, are currently ranked 43rd in the world, 33 places above Ireland.

The first round knockout match will take place on February 3rd and 4th at the Birkerød Idraetscenter, near Copenhagen. The victor will progress to the second round of the competition in April.