Profile | Brisbane International

This popular Australian Open warm up event takes place in a city used to elite tennis

The Pat Rafter Arena at Queensland Tennis Park
The Pat Rafter Arena at Queensland Tennis Centre |Phillip Long

By Stephen Higgins | 3 January 2018

Name Brisbane International

Dates First week of January

Established 2009

Surface Outdoor hard

Tour ATP & WTA

Tier ATP 250 & Premier

2018 Prize Money (ATP) $468,910 | (WTA) $894,700

Location The tournament is held at Queensland Tennis Centre in Tennyson, a suburb of Brisbane


Brisbane is a city with true tennis heritage. Queensland’s capital hosted the very first Australian Open tournament in 1969 at Milton Courts, a facility since redeveloped and renamed as Frew Park.

The Milton Tennis Centre was opened in 1915 and hosted eight Australian championships and a number of Davis Cup ties in its time.

With the stands in disrepair and Tennis Queensland suffering from strained finances, Milton was closed in 1999. The State Library of Queensland has written a nice history of the complex if you’d like to know more.

A decade after the old Milton Courts closed, Brisbane was given a new tennis centre to admire when The Queensland Tennis Centre opened in the suburb of Tennyson.

The AUD$82 million development boasts a 5,500 seat arena named for two-time US Open champion Pat Rafter, 16 outdoor hard courts, four clay courts and two grass courts.

The first edition of this joint ATP/WTA event, held in January 2009, attracted a sturdy cast of players. The then world no.1 Ana Ivanovic was joined in the draw by Novak Djokovic, Victoria Azarenka, Amelie Mauresmo, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Tomas Berdych.

In the years since its launch, the Brisbane International has grown to become a respected and popular warm up event for the Australian Open.

Past Champions

Two-time Brisbane champion Victoria Azarenka
Victoria Azarenka is a two-time Brisbane champion |Mirsasha

2018 will see the 10th edition of the Brisbane International. The very first outing saw Victoria Azarenka and Radek Stepanek claim the women’s and men’s singles titles respectively.

On the women’s side, Serena Williams and Azarenka are joint leaders overall with two titles apiece. Williams claimed the trophy in 2013 and ‘14 while the Belarusian added a second career title in 2016.

Andy Murray has the most men’s singles titles (2) after he went back-to-back in 2012 and ‘13. Other noteworthy champions include Andy Roddick (2010) and Roger Federer (2015).

Recent Champions

Year Men's Women's
2017 Grigor Dimitrov Karolina Pliskova
2016 Milos Raonic Victoria Azarenka
2015 Roger Federer Maria Sharapova
2014 Lleyton Hewitt Serena Williams
2013 Andy Murray Serena Williams

Three Interesting Facts